New Hampshire organizations present recycling awards to schools

The NRRA, its School Recycling CLUB and New Hampshire the Beautiful gave 11 awards to teachers, students and groups for their school programs.


The Northeast Resource Recovery Association (NRRA), Epsom, New Hampshire, New Hampshire the Beautiful, Epsom, and NRRA’s School Recycling CLUB presented 11 awards to teachers, students and groups who have started, expanded or sustained their school recycling programs. The awards were presented at the 9th Annual School Recycling Conference on May 22 at the Manchester Downtown Hotel in Manchester, New Hampshire.

“We are committed to supporting and recognizing the recycling efforts of schools,” Michael Durfor, NRRA executive director, says. “NRRA knows students are tomorrow’s recyclers, consumers and environmental leaders. Sustainable school recycling programs depend on students, teachers and facility staff all working in concert. Through its innovative Town and Gown recycling program, NRRA helps bring schools and the town transfer facilities together to increase recycling and reduce costs. The NRRA School CLUB also recognized Queen Elizabeth II and 12-year-old Nadia Sparkes of the United Kingdom for their recent recycling initiatives. Both of their programs epitomize the Recycling Rule$ Conference theme.”

For nomination details on each recipient, visit The School Recycling CLUB’s Conference website page at

The 2017/2018 School Recycling CLUB award recipients are:

  • Special Recognition Award: keynote musical skit, Allenstown Elementary Drama Club, Allenstown, New Hampshire;
  • NH the Beautiful School Recycling Innovation Award: Steve Watson, Inter-Lakes Elementary School, Meredith, New Hampshire;
  • Team Earth Best of the Best Gold Award: Milford Middle School, Milford, New Hampshire;
  • Best Earth Day Event: Milford Middle School, Milford, New Hampshire;
  • Outstanding Work Study Student Recycler: Gabriel Clark, Hollis Brookline High School, Hollis, New Hampshire;
  • Outstanding Community Involvement: Wendy Berkeley, Somersworth Farm to School Program, Somersworth, New Hampshire;
  • Facilities Staff Recycler of the Year: Tim Phillips, White Mountains Regional High School, Whitefield, New Hampshire;
  • School Recycler of the Year: Mike McGuinness, Oyster River Middle School, Durham, New Hampshire;
  • Teacher Recycler of the Year: Chelsea Petereit, Lancaster Elementary School, Lancaster, New Hampshire;
  • Special Recognition Award: banning plastics at royal properties, Queen Elizabeth II, London, England; and
  • Special Recognition Award: Team Trash Girl Initiative, Nadia Sparkes, Hellesdon High School, Norwich, U.K.