Florida recycling associations merge

The two organizations featured similar missions of advancing recycling education, which prompted the merger.


The Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation and the Florida Recycling Partnership have announced plans to merge. As a result of the merger, the two organizations will be governed known as the Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization, while the Florida Recycling Partnership corporation will be dissolved. According to a news release from the foundation, the two organizations have had similar missions.

“The merger will maximize resources to deliver greater impact on increasing recycling,” says Steve Lezman of PepsiCo and incoming chair of the Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation. “The combined organizations will better serve our existing Florida Recycling Partnership members and our Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation donors. Overall, we will be a stronger organization that will be able to accomplish more through education and research projects.”

The Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation says its purpose is to educate policymakers, business leaders and the public on the benefits of recycling and advance recycling education and science. With the merged organization, a continuing emphasis will be placed on research and education.

In addition to Chair Lezman, Liz DeWitt of the Florida Beverage Association was elected as vice chair of the Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation and JP Toner of the International Bottled Water Association will continue as the foundation’s secretary/treasurer. Two past chairs—Dawn McCormick of Waste Management Inc. of Florida and Kim Brunson of Publix—will continue to serve on the merged boards.

Additional board members for the Florida Recycling Partnership Foundation include:

  • Karl Berven of Bealls;
  • Erin Black of Coca-Cola Beverages Florida;
  • Harold Bowman of Darling Industries;
  • Tommy Culligan of Publix;
  • Lisa Gilliard of Publix;
  • Donn Githens of Florida Goodwill Association;
  • Jeremy Miller of Florida Goodwill Association;
  • Derieth Sutton of Niagara Bottling;
  • Tomey Tuttle of Florida Power & Light;
  • Doug Wheeler of Florida Ports Council; and
  • Andrew Williams of MARPAN.

Keyna Cory will remain as the executive director of the foundation.

The organization’s new website is under construction, but current and future information about the Florida Recycling Partnership and the foundation can be found at www.flrecycling.org.