NRC awards Murray J. Fox Scholarships

Four Indianapolis-area students awarded $1,500 scholarships.

October 6, 2015

The National Recycling Coalition, Washington, has awarded Murray J. Fox Scholarships to four students at the Murray J. Fox Scholarship and NRC Annual Awards Presentation Lunch Sept. 30, 2015.

The Murray J. Fox Scholarship Fund was created in 1994 by Murray Fox, a long-time supporter and member of the NRC. The fund provides scholarships to college students interested in recycling.

Since 1994, the trust fund has endowed more than $96,000 in scholarships to more than 54 college students.

Three Indianapolis area colleges’ faculty and financial aid offices referred this year’s scholars, the NRC says.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

  • Ryan Hackbarth, a senior at Hanover College studying geophysics;
  • Leah Lahue, a senior at Hanover College studying environmental biology and secondary education;
  • Gabrielle Vinyard, a junior in the Honors Program at Butler University studying biology; and
  • Spencer Wesche, a junior at Franklin College studying ecology and conservation.

“The students selected this year have the aptitude and commitment to make a difference with their degrees,” says Jack DeBell, an NRC board member from the University of Colorado, who manages the scholarship program. “Ryan, Leah, Gabrielle and Spencer represent the future of our industry and join fellow scholars in the NRC’s Alumni Network, to realize the continuing benefits the Murray Fox endowment provides.”

Each student was awarded $1,500 scholarships to assist with their education in addition to complementary admission to the 2015 Resource Recycling Conference in Indianapolis and a one-year membership to the National Recycling Coalition.