Siemens foundation to award waste treatment innovation

Global foundation seeks entries for its “empowering people.Award 2015” program.

July 24, 2015
RTGE Staff
Legislation & Regulations

Siemens Stiftung, a foundation created by multinational manufacturer Siemens AG, has announced a call for entries for its “empowering people. Award” program.

The Munich-based foundation says its awards program “is on the lookout for solutions in the categories of water and waste water; energy; food and agriculture; waste management; health care; sheltering; education; and information and communication.”

The Siemens Stiftung foundation “aims to help people improve their living conditions” with a geographical focus on regions in Africa, Latin America and Europe where such improvements can have the greatest impact.

“Siemens Stiftung invites inventors and developer teams to submit their low-tech innovations in one of eight categories that cover the main areas of basic supply in impoverished regions,” the foundation states in a news release. “The potential to be embedded in entrepreneurial models providing sustainable help to individuals and communities in developing regions is one of the pivotal criteria.”

“The goal of the contest is ultimately to empower people in developing regions to have access to basic services for their daily needs,” says Rolf Huber, managing director of Siemens Stiftung. “We want to locate creative solutions and we are eager to work with innovative teams to bring their solutions to the lives of those who need them most. Since our first Award in 2012, we have been able to support dozens of initiatives. In addition, our network partners of engineers from various fields and social business experts around the world help them maximize their impact.”

Project entries will be assessed by an interdisciplinary and international jury with winners receiving cash prizes and an evaluation of their entries. The first prize winner will be awarded a sum of €50,000 ($56,045); the second prize earnings are valued at €30,000 ($33,620); and the third place winner earns €20,000 Euros ($22,420). Additionally, 20 runners-up will be awarded a sum of €5,000 ($5,600) each.

The deadline for entries is Monday, November 30, 2015.

Those seeking additional information can go to