Ohio Online Scrap Metal Registry Now Available

Registry has been developed to combat scrap metal theft in the state.

December 17, 2012
Recycling Today Staff
Ferrous Legislation & Regulations Nonferrous
An online registry for scrap metal recyclers and bulk merchandise container dealers is now available at the state of Ohio’s Homeland Security Website. The registry was put together following passage of Ohio Senate Bill 193, which has been designed to reduce the level of scrap metal theft in the state.
The registry can be found by going to the Ohio Homeland Security’s website at ext.dps.state.oh.us/ScrapDealer/Pages/Public/Login.aspx
According to the state, the goal of the online registry is to create an infrastructure within the recycling industry to crack down on scrap theft, protecting the state’s infrastructure by focusing on dealers and recycling facilities.  
In addition to the online registry, the Ohio Department of Public Safety is offering training for law enforcement officers and representatives from the scrap metal industry. The training provides a comprehensive overview of the bill. Attendees also will receive information on how and where to register, what penalties can result for failure to comply with the revised law and ways to determine if someone may be attempting to scrap stolen property. 
For more information regarding the training dates and locations, visit homelandsecurity.ohio.gov/scrap_metal.stm.
According to the law, starting Jan. 1, 2013, all scrap metal and bulk merchandise container dealers must be registered with the Ohio Department of Safety.
Starting Jan. 1, 2014, the following will go into effect:
  • All scrap metal/bulk merchandise container dealers are required to report transactions through an electronic transaction reporting system maintained by the Ohio Dept. of Public Safety.
  • The Ohio Dept. of Public Safety will maintain a “Do Not Buy From” list for use by law enforcement and scrap metal/bulk merchandise container dealers. The list will be accessible to law enforcement agencies through CIMS. Agencies will be required to provide information for inclusion into the list.