Call for entries announced for UK recycling awards

Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management will honor authorities, companies, individuals and the community sector.

February 5, 2014
RTGE Staff
Conferences & Events Legislation & Regulations

The Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management, hosted by the Environment Media Group, are now open for entries.

According to EMG, the founder of the awards, the program rewards innovation, dedication and success within this growing sector. Submissions are welcomed from local authorities, commercial organisations, individuals and the community sector, EMG says. EMG also runs the industry news website

For 2014 EMG has launched a new award category, the Circular Economy Success award, as one of the 11 entry groups. The organization also says it will offer a free table of 10 at the awards luncheon to one of the first 100 entrants.

All categories are free to enter and submissions must be received before the closing deadline of midday, 13th March 2014. Entries are scrutinised by an experienced judging panel, before winners are announced at the awards ceremony on Thursday 1st May 2014. EMG says the ceremony, hosted by a high-profile TV celebrity, takes place from 12pm-5pm at one of London’s most prestigious venues, The Landmark.

Speaking about the 2014 launch, editor Steve Eminton, said: “The Awards for Excellence event is a high-profile occasion in the recycling calendar, recognising industry innovation and success. The awards secure the strongest industry support—with 100 percent sponsorship of all categories. This year’s high profile sponsors include Biffa, Geesinknorba, Taylor Bins and Wastepack, and supporters including the charity partner, British Heart Foundation as well as the Environmental Services Association and LARAC.”

The award categories:

  • Retail recycling champion
  • Circular economy success (new for 2014)
  • Waste management initiative in the commercial and public sector
  • Design of a waste management facility
  • Collection crew of the year
  • The best community recycling initiative
  • Recycling business of the year
  • Civic amenity site of the year
  • The best local authority recycling initiative
  • Local authority recycling champion
  • Zero waste platinum award

For the full list of criteria and entry guidelines and event registration, visit or contact Iona Smith or Daniella Jarvie-Thomas at Environment Media Group by emailing or calling 020 7633 4524.